The Ring is Not Gold, But Pride

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

All that glitters is not gold.  This is one of the major themes of the first book of The Lord of the Rings series, The Fellowship of the Ring (1954).  I appreciate this theme because I’ve known people who tend to sparkle.  I’ve seen others fall all over these supposedly golden people.  They can do no wrong.  During one experience, I saw the dark side of this person.  I saw the meanness, falseness, and cruelty that this person was capable of.  Yet, because this person seemingly “glittered,” everybody else could not see through the facade.  They continued to adore and almost worship this person, yet I knew the dark secrets, the lies, and the double-faced nature of this person.  To me, that entire situation and experience has been summed up in the theme of The Fellowship of the Ring: all that glitters is not gold.  Don’t let outward sparkle…

View original post 913 more words

Leave a Reply

